Overview

Up

Patriots Point is home to the Patriots Point Naval and Maritime Museum.

Patriots Point Development Authority was established in the mid 1970's to develop a naval and maritime museum on Charleston Harbor with the center piece of the museum being the World War II aircraft carrier, the USS YORKTOWN. Patriots Point has become one of the state's major tourist attractions with more than 270,000 visitors each year. The YORKTOWN boasts one of the largest education and overnight camping programs in the nation, with more than 40,000 school age children attending these programs each year. The Patriots Point Development Authority Board also oversees the stewardship of over 350 acres of property on Charleston Harbor, much of which is currently under lease for a golf course, a hotel, and a collegiate athletic complex.

Patriots Point, on the Charleston Harbor in Mount Pleasant, SC, is the home of Patriots Point Naval and Maritime Museum and a fleet of National Historic Landmark ships, including the USS YORKTOWN, Cold War Memorial and the only Vietnam Support Base Camp in the U.S. Patriots Point is also headquarters to the Congressional Medal of Honor Society and the agency's official Medal of Honor Museum. As an agency, the Naval and Maritime Museum strives to preserve the living history of our nation's bravest men and women while telling their stories in honorable, educational and engaging ways.


Patriots Point
Fact Sheet

Leadership & Staff

Up
Patriots Point
40 Patriots Point Road
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
866-831-1720 toll free
Executive Director
Mac Burdette
mburdette@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5920
Assistant to the Executive Director
Carol McLemore
cmclemore@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5920
Admin Services/Chief Financial Officer
Royce Breland
rwbreland@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5967
Director of Operations
Bob Howard
rhoward@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5978
Director of Exhibits
David Clark
dclark@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5985
Director of Education
Keith Grybowski
kgrybowski@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5935
Director of Marketing and Sales
Sis Reda
sreda@patriotspoint.org
843-971-5043
Group Sales Manager
Andy Lengsas
alengsas@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5924
Group Sales Coordinator
Shirl Knight
sknight@patriotspoint.org
843-971-5044
Events Coordinator/Operations
Bobby Kotlowski
bkotlowski@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5989
Communications & Media Relations/IT Director
Robert Clark
rclark@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5997
Public Affairs/Media Relations
Chris Hauff
chauff@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5984
Catering Sales Manager
Sean Fogarty - Top Shelf Catering
topshelf@patriotspoint.org
843-375-1366
USS Yorktown Foundation
Todd Cummins
tcummins@ussyorktownfoundation.org
843-849-1928
Director of Camping Services
Alice Seabrook
aseabrook@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5933
Overnight Camping Coordinator
Richard Gregg
rgregg@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5962
Gift Shop Main Floor
sderrick@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5972
Gift Shop Manager
Sam Derrick
sderrick@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5970
Human Resources Director
Sylvia Wasden
swasden@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5969
Finance Office
Elaine Torres
etorres@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5965
Deputy Director Museum Services
Robert Simmons
rsimmons@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5977
General Maintenance
Rich Dunn
rdunn@patriotspoint.org
843-971-5050
Public Safety Superintendent
Betty Goodwater
bgoodwater@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5938
Curator of Collections
Melissa Buchanan
mbuchanan@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5990
Congressional Medal of Honor Society Offices
medalhq@earthlink.net
843-884-8862
Yorktown Association Offices
yorktowncv10association@gmail.com
843-849-1928
News Media & Travel Writers
Chris Hauff
chauff@patriotspoint.org
843-881-5984
Ticketing Services
ticketing@patriotspoint.org
Membership Services
memberships@patriotspoint.org
866-831-1720
843-971-5044
General Information
Chris Hauff
info@patriotspoint.org
843-884-2727

Board Of Directors

Up

Overall governance of the Patriots Point Development Authority is vested in a Board of Directors appointed by the Governor of South Carolina with each member serving a term of four years.

The PPDA Board is made up of nine members. Selection of three members of the Board, including its chairman, is at the discretion of the governor. Five appointed members are appointed by the governor upon the recommendation of a combination of the Speaker of the House, Senate Pro Tem; Senate Finance Chairman; Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee; and The Adjutant General. The Mayor of the Town of Mount Pleasant serves as an ex-officio member. This Board meets regularly to approve strategic planning initiatives, revisions to development plans and contracts, long-term leases, etc.

The executive director, reporting to the Board of Directors and working closely with its chairman, is responsible for long-term planning and day-to-day management of the agency, including the museum and all of its ancillary services.

Board of Directors

  • Mr. Ray Chandler, Esquire
    Chairman
  • Mr. Wayne Adams
    Vice Chairman
  • Mrs. Lin Bennett
  • Mrs. Susan C. Marlowe
  • Mr. Lanneau Siegling
  • Mr. Spencer King
  • Mr. Edwin Taylor
  • Mr. Zeb Williams
  • Mayor Linda Page
    Ex-Officio Member
  • Mr. Mac Burdette
    Executive Director

Careers

Up

Interested in a career at Patriots Point?

All available jobs are listed on the State Government Careers web page.
Search and apply for a job at this address: www.jobs.sc.gov